The Last Days of April

This last week has been quite the contrast to those balmy days we experienced earlier in the month, where spring did the finest impression of summer. The ‘Halcyon days’ as I now refer to them as. These past few days however, have acted despicably; we need rain! Lots of rain! But what do we get? Days of hail and nights of frost. Not exceptionally damaging frosts though, thank heavens. Nonetheless it’s been bloody cold.

Today armed mostly with a 50mm lens, I went out into the garden, and to the allotment, to capture what is going on, and to find out what shines, when the sun doesn’t, in The Last Days of April.

For the last few weeks, the Clematis that grows up the side fence has been full of promise. A star in waiting.

Clematis Montana Rubens, early April.
Well this morning, expecting some sort of frost damage, I was pleased. It had finally delivered.

IMG_1550.jpg

IMG_1551.jpg

IMG_1553.jpg

The cheap and cheerful 50mm F1.8 lens (Nifty Fifty) that I’m mainly using here is an awkward sod – it mostly refuses to focus on anything, but on the rare occasion it obeys me it’s brilliant. This is considered a cheap lens. But even the Cheap lenses are bloody expensive, so I try to get the best out of the few I own, usually resorting to the Kit lens (18-55mm) that came with my camera.

IMG_1569.jpgIMG_1571.jpg

IMG_1555.jpg

IMG_1570

…Very pleased indeed.

There are also other Gems to be found in the garden, the Poppies are doing well.

IMG_1577IMG_1578

IMG_1560

The Tulips not so; not in terms of quantity. But at least it gives me a chance to focus on their individualistic qualities.

IMG_1559

Bluebells are also doing their thing.

IMG_1573IMG_1575

as are Hostas and Ferns.

IMG_1567IMG_1565

And now to plot 12,

IMG_1625

IMG_1638

Where there’s no real stars at the moment. But the Alliums ( purple sensation) will soon take that crown.

IMG_1612

IMG_1584

And because of this, the last of the daffodils sulks amongst it’s mushy mates.

IMG_1596

There is a bit of frost damage here – the Blossom of the apples doesn’t look overly fantastic.

IMG_1619


 

But it’s okay – I wasn’t expecting any apples this year anyway.

The peas I planted out last week have been nibbled. I don’t know what by but I suspect Pea Weevil?

IMG_1621

The Sweet peas seem to have survived the frost – but they are relatively tough anyway.

IMG_1633

In the Greenhouse the Tomatoes are doing well.

IMG_1639

…And not so well.

IMG_1641

The ones that are doing well were a gift. The ones that are doing not so well were sown and grown by me. Hey-Ho.

The Sunflowers aren’t doing at all.

IMG_1642

But the Dahlias are doing all right.

IMG_1650

As is the Nicotiana.

IMG_1644

…If a little nibbled here and there.

And back outside the weeds are doing whatever they want, whenever they want. Undeterred by Hoe wielding gardener.

IMG_1581

It’s been too long since I’ve been out into the garden solely to take photographs. I shall try to make more of an effort there.

It’s also been over a month now since my last blog post – no real reason for this other than the fact that nothing really ‘came’ to me – I don’t really plan my posts, they are almost always spontaneous – off the cuff. Ideas usually come to me when they like, usually at stupid-o-clock in the night. Sometimes I’ll have a light bulb moment where the wording of a particular paragraph – or even a sentence that I’ve been struggling with will come to me whilst I’m in the shower. Notebookless, it’s needless to say that by the time I’m out, it’s completely gone. And For the last month, nothing came to me. No ideas whatsoever. Not that it’s a problem but Perhaps I do need to start planning these more – brainstorming?

I’d be interested to know if any of you Garden Bloggers also Suffer from mild bouts writers block ? Or is it Bloggers Block? Is that a thing?

Anyhow, it’s been a funny old month. Kind of. Well actually, it hasn’t. Not really. Not for this country. And there’s two full days left yet! So whatever you’re doing, I hope you enjoy the Bank Holiday weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

