An evening stroll.

‘Greening Grey Britain’ isn’t a campaign that I think my local town really needs. It is already colourful, in both it’s buildings and its characters (how cliche.) 


But where Gardening is concerned, our town doesn’t do to bad either. There’s Some wonderful gardens in the side streets and the wynds and under the arches of the viaduct. 


Most of the hanging baskets on the high street are looked after splendidly by the shops that they are outside of. I think I managed to get photos from each side of the Town Hall with a hanger in the foreground.

 I think it is our local pub that does us most proud. Always a fabulous display. The Landlord, as my allotment neighbour once told me, is ‘ a hell of a gardener.’ Round the back, in the beer garden, there is espalier fruit trees. ( I resisted the temptation to visit it though.)

These were all taken tonight on a walk down during the golden hour. The walk back up involved fish and chips and a setting sun: 

7 thoughts on “An evening stroll.

  1. And now you’ve given me an itch by not saying what the town is, Jack. On purpose, I guess. I like the word Wynds. In my local county town, Lewes, similar small lanes are called Twittens – which is pretty lovely too and in York they’re Snickets I think (if that is what Wynds are?).

    Our conversation on my blog came to an abrupt halt because we’d written more than ten comments in a thread which, so I’ve learnt, is the maximum! I’m with you on the history of particular gardens. I have nothing on the Priory from before my time – hardly any info and no photos except for an aerial shot taken probably ten years before I started. I guess I at least now have my own record going back nine years. Your Dad’s place sounds fascinating – good luck in your research and with the greenhouses. Such a shame.

    And watch out for – New on the Anxious Gardener: ‘A day of Mowing.’

    Best

    D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi David, how strange that there is a limit. Trust me to reach it.

      This is Yarm-on-Tees ( it was sort purposeful but I’m not sure why – the photos are full of clues anyway – I did a terrible job ha!),

      I think that is what a Wynd is ( I’ve just had to google it: long narrow street, so yes that sounds a match) – up until a few years I was pronouncing it ‘Wind’ as in 💨🌪 but it’s actually ‘ Wind ‘ as in Jack in the box. Does that make sense? I like Twittens. Strangely interesting how these things alter across the country – I shall have to look out for Snickets next time I go into York.

      Regarding my Dad’s Gardens, if I can call them that – I think I’m ready to give up on the research – I like there being a bit of Mystery about it. A sort of Heligan effect. Still a shame – these are the gardens to a large country hall – the village it is in is still an ‘estate village’ – there’s still a lord and the villagers still rent off him – he downsized from the big house in the late 1970’s – Bizarre Really, I’ve only recently learnt this and thought that sort of thing ended in the 1950’s – it surely has to be one of the last remaining estate villages. And still, Despite there still being strong links to it’s history – little is known of the gardeners and the gardens – I wonder what that reflects? Sad how quickly history can be forgotten – not everything can be preserved, to my annoyance. I guess you once had the same frustrations with the Priory – hopefully, with blogs like yours, Future generations won’t have as much trouble.

      Like

      1. Sorry Jack, I’ve only just seen this reply – oddly. I’m away (again – in Gloucestershire this time) and will reply properly when I get back to my laptop (and not my fiddly phone). D

        Like

      2. No worries David. Hope it’s for holidays ! Got a few days off myself over bank holiday – not that I’m doing much. Next proper holiday is a week in October – When we’re hoping to visit your neck of the woods actually – well, the south east that is. Hoping to get in one of my partners hotels ( she doesn’t own them she just works for the chain that does.) for a few nights in either Kent or Sussex – an area I’ve always wanted to visit; done every corner of the country but the south east which I’m really unfamiliar with – all I know is all the great gardens of this country seem to be condensed into this area – and I’d like to see some of them. Always fancy Dorset too – coastline looks beautiful ( although I’ve only ever seen it on Broadchurch.) have a great bank holiday weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jack, right then. Yeah, just a few days holiday in Gloucestershire and Bristol and now back at work. Way too hot for mowing today – and I’m now knackered and eyeing the clock hungrily for when it might be Beer O’Clock. Rye is very pretty (if there’s a hotel near there you can use?) with Great Dixter not too far away; Sissinghurst a little further and Dungeness nearby (which I’d recommend as somewhere pretty unique … if odd).

    Funnily enough there are two estate villages not far from me – Firle and Glynde, different ‘big houses’ similar looking villages – and both are pretty unspoilt. Perhaps they’re more common than either of us think?

    If you make it as far east as Seaford/Alfriston and I’m about, I’ll buy you and your partner a drink or two! The walk between Cuckmere Haven and Eastbourne is pretty fantastic if you’ve time (despite what you might have just heard about weird gas clouds at BIrling Gap)!

    D

    Like

    1. Hello David.

      Oh! Perhaps they’re not that rare then. I sort of like that idea though I think! Shall have to have a look into it.

      Glad you had a good time away; yes, been quite hot here today too; cloudy though: Muggy – Horrible.

      Shall have to look into Rye – we have two choices: Buxted Park in East Sussex or Chilston Park in Kent – both I think are in driving distance for a day out to Rye. Both look good for Sissinghurst and Great Dixter too – not that it’s the best time of year for seeing Gardens, but I do quite like seeing the winter bones of Gardens . But all depends on the availability; the way the discount system works we don’t usually get a confirmation till two weeks before.

      And yes, Cheers David , we might have to hold you to that! Shall certainly take a note of that walk, we’ll likely be in the area for a few days so could well have time to do that. Shall have a google tonight.

      Yes! I saw the Gas Cloud on the News – very odd. And very Curious to find out what it was ( as I’m sure you and everyone down there is.) Very strange.

      My few days off hasn’t come much at all – lazy. We did manage to get Whitby though. A place I never tire of.

      Cheers David, All the best for the changing seasons; Autumn is definitely in the Air ( is it me or have some of the trees already started to turn? – Sorry, I’m sure you don’t want to think of the leaves just yet.)

      I am Looking forward to hearing further antics from the Priory though; really enjoyed your recent post; and I always enjoy these exchanges we have every now and then; sorry if I do ramble on a bit though – I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s impossible for me not too.

      Thanks again for all your recommendations; I have made a note of them all.

      Best Wishes,

      Jack.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good stuff, Jack. I know Buxted and it’s not so very far from where I live. Keep me posted. Jealous that you can just ‘pop’ into’ Whitby. Last time I was there it was a Goth weekend – I couldn’t move for all the exotic folk. Best (& in a rush off to work – more mowing!)

        D

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

